WSHS to stage musical ‘Seven Brides for Seven Brothers’ this weekend

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers cast

The cast and crew of "Seven Brides for Seven Brothers" has been hard at work since late September for this year's fall musical.

This weekend, the curtain will rise on the latest production from the Winona Senior High School Theatre Group. 

A dedicated group of students will stage showings of “Seven Brides for Seven Brothers,” a musical by Lawrence Kasha and David Landay based on a 1954 film by Stanley Donen. The peformances will be held at 7 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 14; 7 p.m. Friday, Nov. 15; 1 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 16 and 7 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 16 in the WSHS Auditorium. Tickets are $7 for adults and $3 for students, and they are available at the high school activities office and also at the door. 

Milly Adam Seven

"Seven Brides for Seven Brothers" tells the story of Milly Bradon (played by Adeline Matthees), the new wife of Adam Pontipee (Jacob Slinkman), and her plans to civilize and marry off his six rowdy brothers.

"Seven Brides for Seven Brothers," according to Music Theater International, tells the story of Adam Pontipee (played by Jacob Slinkman) and his six unruly brothers, who think they know what a woman's place is and how to keep her there. It takes Milly Brandon (Adeline Matthees), Adam's spirited new wife, and six other savvy women to show them who's the boss. 

The brothers will be played by John Ringlien, Caidan Hoarn, Jaylon Stolpa, Dominic McQuinn, Zane Al-Saeed and Preston Kamrowski. The brides will be played by Elaina Fabian, Emma Bucknam, Kailee Slinkman, Hailey Haxton, Katie Pflughoeft and Lily Compton. 

Others with roles in the musical include Nazareth Bernard, Jack Motl, David Konkel, Cody Wojahn, Reed Schawnke, Viggo Smith, Ashley Roetter, Naomi Carter, Harrison Bennick, Ashlyn Full, Willa Krase, Maddy Kalsheuer, Grace Maki, Carly Kastello, Keira Paulson, Ellie Kastello, Morgan Sanchez and David Konkel. 

The tech crew includes: Ava Board, Brenna Borzyskowski, Olivia Bublitz, Aaron Chernega, Julia Czaplewski, Mason Davis, Cooper Hancock, Julia Kopperud, Kelsi Kuchel, Jaron Pizarro, Ava Ringlien, Dave Smith, Mirra Swenson and Kate Thompson.