WSHS seniors recognized for academic achievement

WSHS Senior Awards

These WSHS students were honored during the Academic Achievement Recognition Program. 

Winona Senior High School students work hard in the classroom, in their favorite activities and in the community. 

The Winona Senior High School Academic Achievement Recognition Program salutes that dedication. 

The annual awards ceremony was held in late May at WSHS. Because of COVID-19 restrictions, the event was closed to the public and held during the school day, but that didn’t stop dozens of students from receiving their awards and scholarships from local groups and organizations. 

In all, WSHS students earned nearly $500,000 in college scholarship money. In addition, 57 WSHS students earned a Grade Point Average of 3.5 or better.

The Organizational & Memorial Awards included: 

  • Mark Steffes Memorial Scholarship: Emma Heinert and Jack Thompson
  • Tom Blacklock Memorial Scholarship: Nicole Miller
  • “Super Gav” Memorial Scholarship: Paige Hermsen
  • Xcel Energy Scholarship: Trenton Denzer
  • Yale Book Award: Jasper Hedin
  • Masonic Scholarship Winona Lodge #18: Emma Heinert, Paige Hermsen, Julia Kronebusch
  • WEA Janet Luttmers Educational Scholarship: Izzabella Goettelman
  • Henry, Edith and Christine Hanson Memorial Scholarship: Brandon Scott
  • Class of 1974 WSHS Spirit Memorial Scholarship: Emma Heinert and Julia Kronebusch 
  • Gayle Goetzman Washington-Kosciusko Scholarship: Phoenix Matthees
  • Earl Graves Memorial Scholarship: William Wisniewski and Issara Schmidt
  • Winona Friendship Center Scholarship: Julia Kronebusch
  • MiEnergy Cooperative Scholarship: Jackson Cichosz, Rachel Russell, Issara Schmidt, Abigail Steinfeldt
  • Harvard Book Award: Augusta Gruhlke
  • Morrie Miller Scholarship: Izzabella Goettelman
  • Youth Scholarship Alliance/Community & Merit Scholarship: Issara Schmidt
  • Sophia Allena Moe College Scholarship: AJ Appicelli and Grace Buswell
  • Erik Floan Memorial Scholarship: Hannah Sheridan
  • Jerry Raddatz 3 Sport Spirit Award: Julia Kronebusch
  • Joe Slavin Memorial Scholarship: Grace Buswell and Jack Thompson
  • Eric John Paul Halverson Memorial Scholarship: William Wisniewski
  • P.E.O. Sue Spate Endowed Scholarship: Emma Heinert and Julia Kronebusch
  • P.E.O. Donna Helble Foundation Scholarship: Kaityln Clemons
  • Winona Bowling Association Scholarship: Keyton Gibbons
  • Winona Elks Lodge - Most Valuable Student Scholarship: Kayla Ellefson
  • Women in Business - Vicki Decker Scholarship: Julia Kronebusch

The Students entering the Armed Forces include: Lilyan Holtz (Army National Guard), Mason Merchlewitz (Army National Guard), Rochelle Greene (Army National Guard).

The post-secondary institution awards earned by students include: 

  • Keyton Gibbons (University of Alabama): UA Scholar Award
  • Kaitlyn Clemons (Drake University): Presidential Merit Scholarship, Pharmacy Hero Scholarship, Alumni Trustee Scholarship
  • Calla Swenson (University of Minnesota): Freshman Housing Scholarship, Iron Range Scholarship, UPromise Scholarship
  • Chloe Hughes (University of Minnesota): Academic Scholarship for Housing
  • Trenten Langowski (Concordia-St. Paul): Athletic and Academic Scholarship
  • Dane Reinardy (Winona State University): President’s Honor Scholarship
  • Paige Hermsen (South Dakota State University): Yellow & Blue Scholarship
  • Julia Kronebusch (University of Kansas): KU Excellence Merit Scholarship
  • Ava Ringlien (University of Nebraska-Lincoln): George Beadle Scholarship, Husker Heritage Scholarship, CASNR Scholarship
  • Morgan Walker (Colorado Mountain College): Freshman Student Scholarship
  • Hannah Sheridan (Northern Illinois University): Academic Scholarship, Music Scholarship
  • Briar Volkman (University of Minnesota): College of Science and Engineering, Freshman Academic Scholarship
  • Trentton Denzer (University of Wisconsin-Platteville): Academic Merit Scholarship
  • Hunter Schellhas (Augustana University); Early Auggies Scholarship, College Readiness Scholarship
  • AnnMarie Donahue (Minnesota State University, Mankato): Mankato Grant
  • Daniel Florness Jr. (Purdue University): National Recognition Programs Scholarship
  • Nolan Livingston (Winona State University): Winona State Academic Award

The Foundation for WAPS Haake Poetry Prize Competition winners included: 

  • First place: “Pocha Chicana” by Francesca-Rose Meyer and “Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust” by Alec Newstrom
  • Second place: “Knives” by Lillian Mitchell, “We The Hmong People” by Suyee Vang and “The Song of Summer” by Reagan Oelmann.

Miller Mentoring Awards

  • It Takes Two Scholarship: Ashley Roetter and Hunter Schellhas
  • Sharon K. Suchla Memorial Scholarship: Onnah Pomeroy


  • Daniel Florness Jr.
  • Issara Schmidt

2021 GPA Award Recipients

  • Highest Honors (3.97 or above): Mars Bell, Marisa Borkowski, Alexander Charles, Kaitlyn Clemons, Daniel Florness, Colleen Halleck, Emma Heinert, Chloe Hughes, Ariana Jacobs, Olivia Johnston, Anissa Lee, Alexander Lorenz, Nicole Miller, Ava Ringlien, Issara Schmidt, Calla Swenson, Morgan Walker
  • High Honors (3.87 or above): Anthony Appicelli, Jacob Bostrack, LeeRoy Girtler, Paige Hermsen, Julia Kronebusch, Hannah Sheridan, Briar Volkman, Taylor Wind
  • Honors (3.67 or above): Jack Blahnik, Kaleb Brommerich, Alec Bruss, Grace Buswell, Trentton Denzer, AnnMarie Donahue, Tristan Duerr, Kayla Ellefson, Casen Fritz, Izzabella Goettelman, Paige Grafton, Jesse Hemstock, Caidan Hoarn, Lilyan Holtz, Emma Koehler, Hans Larsen, Zachary Motz, Esther Mulkey, Rachel Russell, Gabrielle Shadle, Jack Thompson. 
  • Presidential Academic Award (3.5 or above): Colton Beier, Zachary Bostrack, Evan Compton, Madalyn Cyert, Keyton Gibbons, Hannah Lee, Francesca-Rose Meyer, James Molitor, John Moua, Brandon Scott.